Breads · Savory

Paleo Almond Bread

I’m going gluten free and missing my bread lately. I like the “gluten free” breads at the grocery store, but the ingredients list is usually so long and they contain more sodium than I would like to eat in one sitting.

So, I started looking for “paleo” bread at the grocery. I found a really good one with a short and healthy ingredients list but it was $11 for a very small loaf…. I’m sorry but I do not want to spend that much on bread. I get it, I know what’s in it and those ingredients can be expensive. But I figured I could make it at home for even cheaper and know exactly what and how much of each ingredient is in it.

Insert yesterday’s baking adventure! I decided to try my hand at a Paleo Almond Bread. I made this up completely from scratch and my own little brain. It didn’t turn out exactly like I would have liked (I wanted it to rise a bit more). But it had a good flavor so I figured I would share. I will hopefully keep working on this recipe and tweaking it make it even better. Until then, try your hand at it and enjoy!

almondbread

What you’ll need:

  • 1 1/2 – 2 cups almond meal (I used Bob’s Red Mill)
  • 1/4 tsp Himalayan pink salt
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 2 Tbsp flax seeds
  • 1 Tbsp chia seeds
  • 2 Tbsp coconut oil, melted
  • 2 eggs

What you’ll need to do:

  1. Combine all dry ingredients together in a large mixing bowl.
  2. Add eggs and melted coconut oil.
  3. Stir until well mixed.
  4. Place in a lightly oiled bread loaf pan. (I used a natural stoneware loaf pan, lightly sprayed with olive oil.)
  5. Bake at 350 for 20-25 minutes.
  6. Allow to cool. Cut into small slices.
  7. Enjoy topped with avocado, eggs, almond butter, apple butter, or your favorite toppings.

I enjoyed mine topped with sliced avocado, cracked red pepper, cranberries, and a runny egg. Yum!

almondbread2

bread

Leave a Reply

