Breakfast · Recipes

Homemade Almond Milk

I have recently gotten into the almond milk craze. I love the taste of it in my smoothies and love knowing I don’t have to worry about hormone pumped animals or wondering what all might be hiding in there. However, I have noticed the list of ingredients on the carton is longer than I would want. Shouldn’t almond milk be simple and clean?

I’ve heard that almond milkΒ is super easy to make, especially if you have a Vitamix or other high speed, durable blender. I said I’ll believe it when I see it. Well, I tried my hand at it and it is definitely true! This almond milk was so super easy, with only 3-4 ingredients. AND I got some almond butter out of it too! I doctored that stuff up a tad and it was so light, fluffy, and delicious!

almondmilk

What you’ll need:

  • 4 cups filtered water
  • 1 cup almonds
  • 2-3 Tbsp honey (or maple syrup)
  • 1 Tbsp vanilla (optional: I did not use this just because I didn’t have any and it still turned out great!)
  • nut milk bag or cheese cloth (mine came with my Vitamix, you can probably get one on Amazon, any kitchen store, or large retailer.)

What you’ll need to do:

Soak almonds for 6+ hours. Drain & rinse.

almondmilk4

Place almonds and 4 cups filtered water in Vitamix. Blend on high for 2-3 minutes.

almondmilk5

Strain milk through a nut milk bag or cheese cloth. Mine came with my Vitamix, but you can also find one here.

almondmilk3

Squeeze bag until all milk has been strained. You will be left with almond butter!

almondmilk2

For the Almond Milk:

  1. Place almonds in bowl with water and soak for at least 6 hours. I soaked mine for 24 hours.
  2. Drain and rinse almonds well.
  3. Place almonds and 4 cups filtered water in Vitamix. Blend for 2-3 minutes on high.
  4. Place nut milk bag or cheese cloth in a large bowl and strain.
  5. Milk will be warm. Place in a large bowl and chill.
  6. For easier storage and consumption, pour milk into glass bottles. I used these glass ‘juice’ bottles I got from a local smoothie/juice shop. You can also find them hereΒ on Amazon.Β You can also store in a large growler. I used a large gallon growler that had kombucha in it. You can find these at Whole Foods or you can buy an empty one here.

For the Almond Butter:

  1. Once you have strained all of the milk from the bag use a spoon to begin scooping almond butter into a small bowl. (This doesn’t make a ton, but at least a few servings.)
  2. Turn the bag inside out and get every last yummy bit out!
  3. You can eat plain, but it was pretty bland in my opinion. If you want to doctor it up a tad you can add cinnamon, honey, and I even added Sunwarrior chocolate protein to give it a little flavor.

almondbutter

I was so excited that this actually turned out. If you make it let me know how yours turned out and what you thought. Enjoy in your favorite granola, cereal, smoothies, or just a plain glass of milk with my Paleo Almond Cookies! πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

