Breads · Desserts · Sweet

Festive Paleo Banana Bread ‘Cake’

I always love making festive, creative desserts for holidays. This 4th of July I hadn’t planned anything yet, but knew I wanted to bake something fun and healthy. I saw a delicious paleo banana bread ‘cake’ made by The Balanced Rose and I knew this was the one I wanted to make!! You will want to take this to all your get togethers from now on- it is so simple, healthy, and yummy!!

4thcake4

She creatively used Rachel Mansfield’s paleo banana bread recipe & topped it with greek yogurt and berries to make a beautifully delicious dessert. I tweaked the banana bread just a tad to fit what I had on hand. I also made my own topping with plain greek yogurt and honey instead of vanilla greek yogurt. You could do either one 🙂

4thcake5

Serves: 8-10

What you’ll need:

  • 3 medium ripe banans, mashed
  • 6 Tbsp almond butter
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 Tbsp honey
  • 1 Tbsp coconut oil, melted & cooled
  • 1/3 cup + 2 Tbsp almond meal (I used Bob’s Red Mill)
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • sprinkle of cinnamon (I really like cinnamon so I probably did 2-3 tsp)
  • 1/2 cup dark chocolate chips
  • plain greek yogurt
  • honey
  • fresh, organic blueberries & strawberries (or toppings of your choice to fit the holiday – be creative 🙂 )

What you’ll need to do:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  2. Lightly oil baking dish. This recipe works in a 9X9, double recipe to fit a 9X13.
  3. Place wet ingredients in stand mixer. Mix until well combined.
  4. Add dry ingredients and continue mixing until all ingredients are mixed together.
  5. Fold in dark chocolate chips (If you have enough you can save some to sprinkle on top, I ran out)
  6. Bake for 30-35 minutes. I baked for 35 and it was done, a tad dry, so I would check it around 32 minutes.
  7. In a separate bowl, mix together 2 small single serve greek yogurts (about 2 cups) and  about 1 Tbsp honey (or eat plain if you don’t want it sweetened).
  8. Allow cake to cool completely.
  9. ‘Ice’ cake with yogurt topping.
  10. Place berries in flag pattern.
  11. Cut into small squares.
  12. Serve and enjoy!

**Refrigerate leftovers for up to 7 days.

4thcake3

Look at that chocolatey, banana goodness!!

I could eat this daily…. and that’s totally ok because it’s full of healthy fats, protein, and no added sugar!

Leave a Reply

